Posted by: rhenderson8110 | July 29, 2014

Living & Learning

Wow, so it has been a while since I have posted! So much is happening in our little corner of the world! We’ve been enjoying a mild and sunny summer, packing our things for our big move in about a week, taking on weekly birthing classes and preparing for a family wedding and a beach vacation. Oh yeah and I’m still growing this little (but not so little anymore) baby girl inside! So it has been wonderful and full. And exhausting. And overwhelming. So I’m trying to learn to take it one step at a time so we can try to enjoy each of them… and honestly so that I don’t panic. 🙂 

I think that is something I need to take with me through this next phase of life. There will always be a million things to do and it will probably often feel like there is just not enough ‘me’ to get it all done. And that’s okay. I haven’t gotten everything on my neatly manufactured lists done and guess what? The important things got done and the rest didn’t. And we all survived and are even learning to let go of some of that perfectionist in us which is probably for the best anyways. So, the apartment is a maze of boxes- half labeled and taped, half open with random things thrown inside.Oh, and I packed all the dishes except a few plates and bowls… which made me feel like I was really on top of things until I realized that means we have to wash them everyday so we have clean ones to use for the next meal. Awesome- another job I’ve created for us. 😉 So, in the end, we’re living and we’re learning together. And that’s really the point anyways, isn’t it?

I’m in my third trimester now- only a few months until we get to meet our darling little girl! I have been so blessed to have such a wonderful and vibrant pregnancy. However I feel like third trimester has come into my life with authority! I can definitely feel the aches and pains of pregnancy. I asked Alex to sit down next to me for a minute last night so I could vent to him. ‘I didn’t sleep at all last night, my ribs hurt, I’m exhausted but have restless legs so I can’t fall asleep, I’m starving and I have this weird taste in my mouth all the time.’ And he said the perfect thing- he reminded me of how extraordinarily wonderful I have felt the whole rest of my pregnancy and that rough days like that one were completely normal and that it was okay to feel kind of ‘blah.’ He gave me permission to feel off and I’m so grateful for that as it is rarely something we grant ourselves. That’s another thing I’m learning- not every phase is wonderful but it is part of the experience. And I can’t help but wonder if my minor discomforts now aren’t helping to prepare me for the next phase. God is so good that way; always getting us ready for what is ahead. So I’m trying to focus my attitude; instead of being irritable and frustrated that I tossed and turned, took a shower at 1AM, tossed and turned again and didn’t sleep… I prayed this morning to be thankful for the preparation for what’s surely ahead. And it was a beautiful reminder of how much I need God’s help each morning to get through whatever the day may bring. And that’s always a good thing to be reminded of.

Here’s me at 26 weeks (a  couple weeks ago now) heading to our birthing class 🙂

1924326_10203677132022758_7263720832374525339_n

Oh, and despite me deceptively holding an apple in this picture the reality is that in our moving/packing/shortage of dishes phase we have eaten out a lot. :/ Not ideal and sometimes I feel bad that I’m introducing our daughter to such imperfect food. And then I remember that that’s life- imperfect and thrown together sometimes. And I figure, hey why not start out being honest with her. 😉

Responses

  1. Oh man. I love the honesty. Thank you for putting to words what so many of have felt but felt too guilty to express. It’s like Alex (and David) so wisely said – it is okay to feel kind of blah. Love you and praying for your next few months!

  2. Thanks Danike 🙂 Glad I’m not alone! Thanks for the love and prayers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

