Posted by: rhenderson8110 | June 4, 2014

When Someone Lives Inside You

It’s June and summer is in full swing here! It seems like everything is bursting with life and joy and newness. Lately I’ve been feeling the same way- bubbling over with gratitude, experiencing new things and growing a brand new little life inside. I’ve been feeling the baby move for about 2 1/2 weeks now and Alex has even gotten to feel HER move! That’s right, we found out last week we’re having a beautiful little girl! I can’t imagine being more excited that we’re going to have a daughter in our arms by the time the snow falls. It’s all so exciting and fresh and new.

Now that I’ve felt the baby move sometimes I just sit quietly and try to feel her. I’ve noticed that I don’t feel her as much during the busy-ness of the day… it’s usually at night, when I’m lying in bed thinking through the day. And then I feel a kick or a nudge or a tap. And it’s so obvious again to me that there is indeed someone abiding in me. Honestly it’s easy to forget sometimes… you know, I’m just busy doing what I do and I forget about the biggest Blessing in my life. And it got me to thinking about something I’ve heard a million times but never really understood. Someone else is living within me- Christ. His spirit abides in me. A family member asked me what I loved most about being pregnant and I told her it was just knowing that I’m never alone- it makes me feel abundant and humbled and filled. But the truth is that I wasn’t alone even before I got pregnant. God has given me His spirit and that spirit is in me wherever I go. 

Which is wonderful and encouraging… and sobering. I am more sensitive about what I eat and listen to now because I know it will be the first things our daughter tastes and hears. I should remember also that Christ experiences all I do as well. When my dad dropped me off before school he used to say, ‘Take Him with you!’ The truth is that we all take Him with us- every day, every where and every time. I am also more particular about the environments I put myself in now because I am carrying another life. I can’t avoid all toxins but I do notice now when I’m standing behind a car’s exhaust pipe in the parking lot. I do take extra notice when there’s a smoker in front of me in line. I take care to avoid even the smallest dangers. And it hit me- shouldn’t I have the same mindset towards spiritually dangerous things since Christ is living in me as well? I need to make it easy for His spirit to abide and grow in me too. Therefore shouldn’t I avoid spiritually dangerous environments? As opposed to riding the line and focusing on the fact that it’s ‘not that bad,’ shouldn’t I guard my ears from hearing anything remotely toxic? I guess my point is that this Pentecost season my goal is to truly appreciate the gift that God has given me- His spirit. Part of appreciating it is guarding it- in a maternal, protective, loving and at times fierce way. God’s spirit is special and powerful and continues to make me grow. Come to think of it those are the same qualities I look forward to seeing unfold in our daughter too.

The last thing I wanted to leave you with was this: It is when I slow down that I feel our daughter move within me; I think sometimes it takes a willingness to create and embrace still moments to feel God’s spirit in our lives as well. I believe there is much value to be found in slowing down, closing your eyes and asking God to reveal Himself or His plan for your life. Don’t we all want to feel God move in our lives? He probably does all the time- just like our daughter does. We just miss it in the hurriedness of our lives. So my advice is don’t miss it. Don’t forget about the biggest miracle in your life- having God’s spirit living and growing inside you. Take the time to slow down and commune with Him. My bet is that you will come away feeling refreshed, rejuvenated and thankful for the reminder that you’re not alone. Just like I do when I feel her move. ❤

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the morning,
And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
Even there Your hand shall lead me

For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.
I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.
My frame was not hidden from You,
When I was made in secret,

Psalm 139: 7-10, 13-15

Image

Responses

  1. What a wise word. I love how God uses “normal” things like pregnancy to teach us about His heart for us and who we are in Him. I pray that you and I both keep our hearts open to His wisdom! Love you! =]

  2. So true. I was just enjoying our little one move around last night and thinking how nice. Due in August. My twenty-two month old fell asleep with us on the couch in awkward upside down position, and I couldn’t help but think how cute. Scriptures about the day of the Lord coming like a woman in labor have so much more impact after you’ve been through labor. Still, totally worth it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

