Posted by: rhenderson8110 | October 25, 2013

Surrendered Cemetery- Is Your Marker There?

The sweet, spiced scent of simmering apple butter swells through our apartment as I sit on the couch with my coffee this morning. Alex & I have experienced God’s faithfulness in our lives again as of late and our spirits are bubbling over with thankfulness. All is good in our little world. And I was thinking about why that is- why we live such blessed lives… and at first I thought because of God, which is true. But actually a lot of people know about God but don’t feel this connectedness with Him. For me, I live a blessed life because I am trying every day to surrender everything to Him. To give it all away for Him. To lay down my life for His cause and His glory. 

Alex & I bought a very eye opening documentary called, ‘Agenda.’ I was watching it yesterday as I peeled the apples for my apple butter. The whole thing is definitely worth a watch but there was a part at the very end that caught my attention. The speaker was commenting on what the mindset of Americans used to be. They so believed in principles such a freedom and the sanctity of every human life that they considered it an honor to defend it. They wanted to serve to preserve such ideals. They were willing to sacrifice their time, energy, money and if asked of them, their lives. Their lives were laid at the feet of something greater than themselves. They showed photos of the rows of crosses in Arlington Cemetery- all those men and women who laid down their lives.

And it got me thinking… aren’t we, as Christians, called to lay down our lives for something as well? “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.” (Rom. 12:1) God says that giving our lives is our ‘reasonable service.’ In a very real way, we are all ‘in the Service’- just like all those people who are marked in Arlington Cemetery. And then I wondered, if God had a ‘Surrendered Cemetery’ marking each person who gave their life completely over to Him in service, would I have a marker? Would you? Maybe He recreates it each day. Each day we either choose to surrender completely to Him or we don’t. How many days would there be a Rachel Henderson marker? Is there some corner of my life that I refuse to sacrifice for Him? Do I like it just a little too much? Is there something I cling to like a child clutches a security blanket? How surrendered am I? Would there be a marker there for me?

Surrendered Cemetary

I think complete surrender looks different for everyone… and then is exactly the same. What I mean is that we need to think about what means the most to us in this life- our family, our wealth, our appearance, our pride, etc. and then ask- would I give that up for God? In fact, do I give that up for God now? Is there an area in your life that you know you should entrust to God but you feel yourself constantly snatching it back? “Will I ever get married?!” “Will I ever have children?” “How will we pay the bills?!” If we continue to cling to something or someone and are embarrassed or unwilling to give it to God- we are not ‘giving our lives’ to Him. I listened to a great story from Jean Gardner on Focus on the Family and she said, ‘I don’t know what the next chapter is. I don’t know what is ahead- except that I know Jesus is ahead. He hasn’t given me tomorrow yet. All I have is today- here with you- and if He doesn’t give tomorrow to me it is okay.” Have we really surrendered that much? Are you really okay with God taking you anywhere? Are you really okay if God’s design for you does not include marriage or children? Do you trust Him that much? Have we really laid our lives at His feet? David said, “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.” (Psa. 51:17) We have got to get to this point. We have to break that hardened, stubborn spirit within us and replace it with the understanding that we are in complete poverty without His guidance. Our way is not better than His. Say that to yourself again. As my Dad used to say, ‘We must believe that He is both willing and able to bring about the perfect outcome.’

my life

That’s a lot to think about. After I finish this I’m going to sit down and write a list of those areas in my life I consistently try to ‘take back.’ I want to know what I am not surrendering now so that I can work on laying it down. I want to lay it all down. I want to give the ultimate sacrifice every day. I want God to peer down at me, smile, and know there is a marker for me. I’d like to picture Him on His knees in that ‘Surrendered Cemetery.’ It’s evening now and the sun is setting. Maybe he is humming a Psalm quietly, as He parts the earth with His powerful hands and places my marker there, in a special spot. Maybe He chuckles thinking of all my do-overs and mess-ups but He lovingly mounds the dirt around my marker securing it there. And He knows He has my life- my whole life- where it should be, completely, utterly in His hands.

Here is the link to purchase the DVD Documentary, Agenda: http://www.amazon.com/Agenda-Grinding-America-Curtis-Bowers/dp/B003Z3CZGG/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1382705741&sr=8-2&keywords=agenda

Responses

  1. …and know that God is so very pleased with your attitude Rachel. Thanks for the beautiful post and reminder. 🙂

    • Thank you Mrs. Stewart! Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. This was excellent Rachel. We must reorient our desire to God and all other desires, objects, objectives and relationships in life become fulfilling and can be appreciated and enjoyed for what they are. Tomorrow is not our jurisdiction. We must live in today and give it all over to God and when we truly walk with God, wherever that may go, we will be right where we’re supposed to be.

    • Thanks Marty! That ‘reorienting’ process is a daily one, isn’t it?! I loved that, ‘tomorrow is not our jurisdiction’ concept- so powerful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

