Posted by: rhenderson8110 | October 7, 2013

Fill Your Tank So You Can Fill Someone Elses’

Health has always been a topic that was ‘on the table’ for my family. We talk about enzymes, exercise, sprouting, juicing, running, lifting, biking, cleansing, and buying organic. We come from all different perspectives on the matter of health- there’s a bodybuilder, a gardener, a hopeful mom-to-be, a frequent gym-goer and some that haven’t stepped foot inside one. Anyways, it has always been something we talked about. As I enter into different phases of life I am realizing that there is a great spiritual importance to cherishing our health also. 

I have come to see in my own life that when I put my health on the back-burner I have less energy and that my lack of energy has big consequences for myself and those around me. For the past 6 months or so I have been making a very deliberate effort to build Alex & I up from the inside out. Later I’m going to share with you some practical tips on how to begin building healthy habits into your life too. Right now I’m going to convince you that it is important for Christians to place a strong emphasis on taking care of themselves.

First of all, the less energy I have the less willing or able I am to serve others. In short, being unhealthy leads to selfishness. I am so consumed with getting through the day that I am less cheerful, less apt to jump in and help and much less able to enthusiastically glorify God. And then I come home and somehow find it to be 10:00 and I’ve done nothing but lay on the couch and feel ‘blah.’ I realize that is not a highly educated word but I couldn’t find another more fitting to the sentiment. We are put on this planet for a short time to give our lives in service. Christ came to serve the world and we must take up that charge as well. How can we accomplish our purpose if we are physically drained? One thing I have learned- if I am not filling my tank with good, whole foods and getting outside to move on a regular basis, when someone asks for my help I simply have nothing left to give. What an awful thing.

Secondly, and now that I think about it maybe this should have been ‘firstly’… God tells us to! Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own? For you have been bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body. (1Cor. 6:9) At some point we all must realize that we are renters. We don’t own our bodies- they are on loan and you do NOT want to let the Lender down. It’s a command to take care of ourselves… so let’s get to it! 

So, some practical tips on how you can begin to make your health a priority in your life:

1. Smoothies. This is my favorite tip because they are SO good! For about 9 months now I’ve been making Alex and I smoothies in the morning. It seems like a big task but I promise it takes about 10 minutes and it gives you a huge energy boost! Some things I throw in there are chia seeds, flax seed, a mix of powdered greens (barley grass, wheat grass, chlorella, etc.), maca root powder, Vitamin D, local honey, and peanut butter. I also use almond milk which is yummy and great if you don’t do dairy. Just throw in fruit, some boosters and maybe some spinach or kale too. I started to feel noticeably better about 4 days into doing this. Make it part of your routine and get ready to feel better!
smoothies

2. Make a commitment to go do something active at least 3-4 times/week. This can be going for a walk for all I care. During the summer Alex and I rarely make it into the gym- it’s way too nice out to do that! But we go on bike rides, go running, take a walk at night, go kayaking, and play tennis often. It’s feels so good to just move- especially if you have sedentary jobs like we do! Find something you enjoy doing and then go do it. It also might help to find a buddy. Your spouse is a ready-made one but if not, find a friend that you can go do these things with. We need those endorphins!1291533_10201577494933143_138339948_o

3. Buy a fancy water bottle. Okay, maybe you don’t have to do that but it helped me. I used to be terrible about drinking water- I was just not a thirsty person by nature. But I went and bought myself a fancy water bottle and I make myself fill it up 3 times/day. One thing I do is fill it up in the morning and put it on the table when I bible study. I begin filling my physical tank while I am filling my spiritual one. Plus it’s another routine- and routines happen to be what hold my crazy life together. 🙂 Anyways, when I drink water I feel a million times better, my body is cleansed and it’s so healthy. Commit to it and you’ll be so glad you did!

Here is a link to that fancy water bottle I got… there’s even a pink one ;): http://www.amazon.com/Camelbak-Bottle-0-75-Liter-24-Ounce-Charcoal/dp/B006ZT8MKU/ref=sr_1_1?s=sporting-goods&srs=2586702011&ie=UTF8&qid=1381153974&sr=1-1&keywords=camelbak

Beloved, I pray that in all respects you may prosper and be in good health, just as your soul prospers. (3 Jn. 1:2)

Bottom line, let’s commit to filling our physical tanks so we can enthusiastically fill others’!

Responses

  1. Thank you Rachel for reminding us of this important, but less talked about fact! In today’s society it is soooo very easy to eat on the run unhealthy food or sit too long in front of the internet or TV. Serving is one of the Proverbs 31 women’s characteristics. I always appreciate your posts. 🙂

    • So glad you enjoyed it Mrs. Stewart- I think it’s important too!

  2. Perfecting timing and message for me Rachel! I started weight watchers saturday 🙂

    • Awesome Joanna, good for you! Glad you enjoyed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

