Posted by: rhenderson8110 | July 14, 2013

Create

Alex & I are in the midst of our first media fast where we attempt to refrain from any unnecessary media for a couple weeks. Movies, TV, Facebook, etc. It has been rewarding and difficult at different moments. But, one good thing that has come from it is that I have had the quiet time to read more. My latest finish is ‘Cold Tangerines’ by Shauna Niequest. I enjoyed the book but my favorite part was almost at the very end. I love that, it’s like a little present for reading all the way though. 🙂 I thought I’d share it today:
“Everyone has something to say. Everyone. Because everyone, every person was made by God, in the image of God. If He is a Creator, and in fact He is, then we are creators, and no one, not a bad seventh grade English teacher or a harsh critic or a jealous competitor can take that away from you.”

I have always known that we were created in the image of God. And I have always known He was the Creator… but I never put those 2 together before. I’ve always been a DIY-er at heart. Whether it was scrapbooking, painting a room, building a table or writing I’ve always enjoyed the process of creating. It’s like I get in a zone- in a space where I’m completely focused on the task. It requires my entire focus because no one is telling me what to do, there’s no template to follow- it’s just me, my brainwaves and my ideas. Creating. When I read that passage I realized why I love that feeling so much. God made me that way! In fact, He made all of us that way. I believe, like Shauna says, that we all have one thing or many things to create. Each of us have different gifts & strengths which allow us to create something uniquely ours.

Writing is something I’ve really always been doing but I’ve been doing it casually, whenever the impulse strikes. As of late I’ve been trying to identify ways that I can serve those around me- especially in a season of life without children of my own yet. And one of those ways, I think, is to write. So I’ve tried to make this transition from writing solely for my own pleasure to writing for others too. And sometimes it’s hard; sometimes I need a push. In those moments, it really helps me, first of all, to recognize that God created me to create. So I can do it. Despite my own weakness, writer’s block and lack of experience- I do have something to contribute. Secondly, it helps me  to remember that God served in the most primal and profound way by creating when He created the universe and put us in it. Therefore the time and energy and revision is a form of service- and an important one! 

So, I challenge you to create. You were made to do it. Whether it’s a painting, a book, a note to a friend, a fixer-upper, a garden or a new deck… keep doing it and thank you. If you aren’t currently doing anything like that, think about it. What can you create to contribute? How can you serve His creation? If you’re already doing it, keep going and I hope this gives you a little more incentive to do so. And every once in a while, stop to consider that you’re following in the footsteps of the Ultimate Creator.

Image

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth… God saw all that He had made, and it was very good.” (Genesis 1:1, 31)

Responses

  1. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing abilities as well as with the layout for your weblog. Is that this a paid topic or did you modify it your self? Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great weblog like this one nowadays.
    .

    • Hi Lynda! Thank you for your encouraging comment! I just made adjustments myself, I don’t pay anything for this. Your comment was just what I needed, so thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

