Posted by: rhenderson8110 | May 2, 2013

Couponing for Beginners

So one of the first things I looked into when I became a wife and wanted to be financially savvy was couponing. I had no idea what I was in for. There are people who basically do this for a living! And nothing against that (they do extremely well for themselves) but I just don’t have that kind of time. So I thought I’d share some basic things that I do use to help lower our grocery expenses without eating up precious time.

1. http://www.coupons.com 
This is a great resource- basically you create an account and put in the grocery stores you frequent. Then it pulls up coupons that are printable that you can use at those stores! Easy peasy. Typically I have 3 sites up when I’m making my grocery list and this is one of them. It’s quick and easy to look up, print out and head out. 🙂

2. http://www.kroger.com
I love Kroger. They have a huge organic foods section and if you use coupons on their site you can’t beat their prices. A cool thing about this one is that once you register you can load the coupons directly onto your kroger card online. So no printing… awesome, right?!

3. http://www.krogerkrazy.com
Why do all the work if someone else is already doing it for you? I use this site often! She puts on here deals and which coupons you can combine to get the best savings at Kroger. Love it. Often she is using kroger coupons + coupons off of coupons.com.

If you don’t shop at Kroger you can probably find a blog like krogerkrazy for your store. I’d google it- once you find one, just follow it and it’ll likely help you save with a limited time commitment.

Couponing Caution: So, I have to put in here a few pitfalls to avoid when you decide to start using coupons.

1. Only buy what you really need. Just because Cheezits are on sale does not mean it is in your budget. It’s really easy to get sucked in because if there is one thing that we are all afraid of- it’s missing an opportunity. Take a second and consider if it really is a savings for you or a marketing ploy success.

2. Don’t compromise on quality because you found a coupon for it. I am a firm believer in putting real, raw, living foods into our bodies. Sometimes I find myself compromising if I have a coupon. ‘Yeah there is MSG in it but it’s SUCH a good deal!’ It is not a good deal if it is hurting your health. Period. 

Anyways, there are just a few things to get you started. Hopefully this is helpful- every little bit helps!

Leave a Reply

Categories

