Posted by: rhenderson8110 | April 17, 2013

Guarding Your Heart

This is a topic that I have been thinking about for a while now. Maybe even one that I pushed to the back of my mind so I didn’t have to really deal with the conclusions I would come to. I’ve been thinking a lot about my responsibility to guard my heart and mind from sinful influences. Alex & I have had some deep conversations about our responsibility with regard to what we allow into our home, into our cars and largely into our minds. I have found that the Bible is not silent on this issue. And therefore, neither should we. In fact, I think you’ll be surprised at just how much God has to say about this topic.

First of all I think it is important to recognize what we are guarding our hearts and minds from. For me, it is easy to go about my daily life without recognizing how much Satan has influenced the world we live in. A helpful resource for me has been the following documentary from GoodFight.org. (http://www.goodfight.org/store/resources_video_tstsfrar10.html) This is a well documented, extensive ‘Rockumentary’ on how much Satan has influenced the popular music of today. It is shocking, horrifying and downright scary. I will warn you that it is hard to watch as it is dark and reveals just how much we have to guard ourselves from. However, I think it is important that we know our Enemy and his tactics. This, along with other things, has helped me to see that we are not living in a largely ‘good’ world with a few ‘bad’ or ‘evil’ influences. We are submerged in Satan’s music, movies & mindsets every day. If we don’t purposely put Godly things into our lives, Satan will put other things in. Re-read that. Do you really believe it? Do you see the spiritual battle we are in? Are you armed? Are you even defended?

GYH Part 1

I believe it is my job to guard my heart and mind with ferocity. Consider this Proverb: ‘Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life.’ (Prov. 4:23) Are you being vigilant? Vigilance is ‘keeping careful watch for possible danger or difficulties.’ I recognize that I have work to do in this area. 

The first step for me was to embrace my calling. We are ‘called out’ of this world. What does that mean you say? It means we are not to act like everyone else who is not called out. We are to be distinct, set apart, foreign. We must accept this if we are going to put into practice the principles of guarding our heart and mind. Are you willing to throw out movies or music that you know are not godly? Are you willing to get rid of cable if God calls you to? Are you willing to leave a movie theater if it blasphemes God or promotes a sinful lifestyle? Will you turn the station if a song that you know you shouldn’t be listening to comes on? Remember this foundational scripture as it relates to our job here on earth: ‘Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.’ (Rom. 12:2) Have you conformed? I have in some ways. It’s hard to be transformed. It’s hard to stand up in a room full of friends and turn the channel. It’s hard to be the ‘buzz kill.’ And yet, it is an integral part of our calling. In this first segment about guarding our hearts I will leave you with this: Are you really willing to do what it takes to rid sinful influences from your life? Which do you value more: what others think about you… or what God asks of you? Test your willingness.

Stay tuned for more on the eternal importance of guarding our hearts.

Responses

  1. As always hun, incredible insights with eternal implications. I always enjoy discussing topics such as this with you. So proud of your writing sweetie!

  2. […] your DVD selection? I go further into choosing godly entertainment in my Guarding your Heart series here, here and here. The bottom line- is anything you own contrary to God’s law? Would you watch […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

