Posted by: rhenderson8110 | March 7, 2013

He is There

I have the hardest time making big decisions. Sometimes I feel like I’m not mature enough or grown up enough to make the decisions that I have to make. Thankfully, God has blessed me with marriage so Alex & I are in it together… but there are still times that we are faced with big decisions and get overwhelmed.  It is so easy for me to get wrapped up in the decisions and details of life. Am I in the right job? Is Alex? What if we’re not?! Where are we supposed to be living? Should we landscape this summer or keep the money in savings? (no but seriously I fret over the smallest things) So many decisions to be made!

And then I take a step back, draw in a deep breath and remember… God’s powerful & steady hand is gently guiding me every step of the way. As long as I am asking Him to direct my steps and acknowledging Him each day He is there. (regardless of where ‘there’ ends up being) It is in these moments when I need to remind myself of one profound thing: God will work with me and be near to me regardless of where I am living & what jobs we are doing. Wherever we are- He is there.

Psalm: 139: 7
Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.

Insert a great, big, heavy sigh of relief here. What an awesome concept to hold on to! Yes we need to make decisions and yes sometimes they are difficult and confusing… but God promises that He will be there with us! Here is the deal God has given us: we pray and fast before we make big decisions in life, He guides our decision making process, we make said decision and He promises to be near to us wherever we end up. Pretty great if you ask me. What peace this can afford us if we can remember this in the midst of the decision making process!

Image

We should come from a place of strength when making decisions. We know that our Father is with us wherever we go. May God help all of us to take great comfort and grow in confidence as we continue to make decisions under His watchful care. So, next time a big decision comes your way remember these words that were written for you and me:

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

Leave a Reply

Categories

